MacDonald dominates count

September 29, 2017

Thirds award winners (from left) Lachie Trotman, Ned Danckert, Ryan MacDonald, Sid Pearn, Will Shaw and John Bowie.

Under 15s award winners (from left) Eloise Ritchie, Ella Harvey, Stephanie Maher and Emma McCallum.

Under 17s award winners (from left) Rachel Hare, Georgie McCalman, Kate McCalman, Georgia Richards and Ella Park.

Under 13s award winners (from left) Ellie Parks, Bridie Blake, Hannah Ford, Macie Free and Samantha Hughes.

Under 12s award winners (from left) Ellie Caruso, Chloe Brown, Annie Harvey and Bonnie Everett.

Rams Gold award winners (from left) Anna Young, Molly Shaw, Rachel Crockart and Taylor Wilkinson.

Fourths award winners (from left) Duncan Hughes, Cable Fitzpatrick, Bradley Poka, Jack Richards and Tom Bradley.

In a season that saw the Deni Rams thirds return to finals, it was onballer Ryan MacDonald taking out the club’s best and fairest trophy.

At the club’s presentation day on Sunday, MacDonald polled 67 votes to claim the top prize.

The closest to him was Will Shaw with 44 votes as runner-up, with Sam Willoughby third on 35, the latter also claiming the award for Most Consistent.

Other award winners were as follows: Leading Goal Kicker - Cooper Wallace (27 goals), Best Team Man - Lachie Trotman, Encouragement - Ned Danckert, Coach’s Award - Sid Pearn, Best in Finals - John Bowie.

Key position player Duncan Hughes dominated the fourths vote count with 83 votes to win the best and fairest.

Fellow key position player Tom Bradley was runner-up with 59 votes, with onballer Cooper Willoughby third on 40.

Other award winners were as follows: Leading Goal Kicker - Tom Bradley (32 goals), Most Consistent - Cooper Willoughby, Best Team Man - Cable Fitzpatrick, Most Improved - Bradley Poka, Coach’s Award - Jack Richards, Best in Finals - Cooper Willoughby.

In the netball Kate McCalman claimed the top gong in Under 17s polling 20 votes.

Runner-up Georgia Richards was close-by on 17, while Ella Park and Rachel Hare were tied in third place on 16.

Other awards were as follows: Coach’s Award - Rachel Hare, Players’ Player - Ella Park, Best in Finals - Georgie McCalman.

In Under 15s, Ella Harvey was a clear winner with 24 votes.

Stephanie Maher finished as runner-up on 16 votes, and third place was shared between Emma McCallum and Keely Mitsch on 14.

Other awards were: Coach’s Award - Eloise Ritchie, Most Consistent - Emma McCallum, Best in Finals - Ella Harvey.

For the Rams Gold side that competed in the Deniliquin Netball Association, Molly Shaw was declared best and fairest with 17 votes.

Runner-up was Isabella White on 14 votes, with Taylor Wilkinson polling 13 to be third.

Other awards were: Coach’s Award - Rachel Crockart and Anna Young, Best in Finals - Taylor Wilkinson.

Bridie Blake polled an impressive 28 votes in the Under 13s vote count to claim the top prize.

Ellie Parks was runner-up with 20 votes and Macie Free finished third on 18.

Other awards: Coach’s Award - Samantha Hughes, Rising Star - Macie Free, Best in Finals - Hannah Ford.

Under 12s’ grand final best on court winner Chloe Brown made it three medal wins for the weekend polling 34 votes to claim the best and fairest.

Runner-up was Annie Harvey with 29 votes, followed by Kate Westcott in third place on 11.

Other awards: Coach’s Award - Ellie Caruso, Captain’s Award - Bonnie Everett, Best in Finals - Annie Harvey.

It was a fantastic year for the Under 12s, claiming the Murray League premiership flag on Saturday.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text