NSW Murray member will serve over 50,000 voters

October 13, 2017

The current make up of the NSW Murray electorate was formed through a boundary redistribution before the 2015 ordinary state election.

It merged areas of the former Murray-Darling and Murrumbidgee electorates, then held by The Nationals John Williams and The Nationals Adrian Piccoli respectively.

Covering much of south-western NSW, the seat of Murray borders Victoria and South Australia.

It covers the entirety of Wentworth, Balranald, Hay, Carrathool, Griffith, Leeton, Edward River, Murray River and Berrigan local government areas, and parts of the Murrumbidgee Council area.

The total area of the electorate is 107,362km2, and the NSW Electoral Commission’s records show there are 55,931 registered voters in the electorate.

Tomorrow’s election has been called due to the retirement of former NSW Member for Murray Adrian Piccoli from NSW Government.

Previously the Member for Murrumbidgee before the boundary redistribution, Mr Piccoli stood down last month to take up a position with the University of New South Wales.

Mr Piccoli’s new role will see him work to improve academic outcomes for Australian students, particularly those in rural areas.

The former education minister said he had been considering leaving politics since he was dropped from cabinet in January.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text