Deni ‘ones’ roll into third place

November 07, 2017

Skipper Shane Laing (left) provides some direction to John Flisher for his next bowl.

Deniliquin Bowling Club has continued its strong start to the season in Division One with a 23-shot win over rival Mathoura on Saturday.

Playing at home, Deni won two out of their three rinks to finish with an overall score of 76-53 to sit third on the Campaspe Valley Bowls pennant ladder.

The first cab off the rank was the team of Lindsay Franklin, Harry Lea, Conway Bovell and skipper Stefan Truelsen, with the talented quartet posting an impressive 12-shot win, 27-15.

David Hessell, Paul Snare, Murray Freshwater and Peter Chadderton were locked in a tight battle, but it was the visitors who came out on top with a 27-21 win going the way of Mathoura.

The final rink for Deni had an impressive day on the greens with Ray Brown, Dennis O’Keefe, John Flisher and Shane Laing dominant in their 17-shot win, defeating Mathoura 28-11.

Deni’s Division Two was also victorious at home on Saturday, holding off Echuca by just three shots despite only winning one out of three rinks.

Graham Nisbet, Carl Slee, Stuart Treble and Lloyd Ritchie found themselves in a close battle throughout the day but unfortunately couldn’t overcome the visitors, going down by four shots, 27-23.

The team of Will Young, Mark Tasker, Keith Plattfuss and Malcom Wubbels struggled against a tough opponent, also finding themselves down after 25 ends, 33-21.

But in a Herculean effort, Deni’s rink of Joanne King, Lee Hillier, Joanne Bovell and Brian Kemnitz managed to save the day, posting a massive 19-shot win (35-16) to steer their side to victory.

It was a tough day for Deni’s Division Three in Elmore, going down on all three rinks to suffer a 17-shot overall loss, 79-62.

Noel Murray, Tony King, Alan Hardcastle and Russell Douglas had an intense battle against the home side. Unfortunately they were unable to get over the line, going down by two shots, 23-21.

In another close game Craig Lowe, Toni Brooksby, Alan Morton and Colin Knuckey went down by six shots 25-19, while Tony Scoullar, Kevin Keane, Clarrie Cameron and Tony Danckert were defeated by nine shots, 31-22.

It was a guaranteed win for Deniliquin in Division Five, with Deni Gold facing off against Deni Blue.

Gold and Blue shared rink wins, with one each, but in the end it was Gold who stood tall with an overall win of 12 shots, 49-37.

Lou Villella, Terry O’Brien, Greg Gamble and Don Bradford started the day well for Blue, overcoming Ian Chessells, Barry Seignior, Mick Donohue and Tim Freeman by six shots, 24-18.

On the other rink, a dominant display by Rob Morris, Raymond Hay, Tony Smith and Peter Morris saw Gold run away with an 18-shot victory, defeating Sheena Wubbels, Maxine Norton, Helen Anderson and Ray Anderson 31-13.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text