Classic weekend for Deni Golf Club

November 10, 2017

David Ring and Graham Gardiner were the winners of Deniliquin Golf Club’s Spring Classic men’s 36 hole event at the weekend.

The duo paired up for an aggregate score of 100 after the two-day event, finishing eight clear of the grandfather and grandson team of Graeme and Sam Willoughby, who were runners-up on 92.

Ladies’ 36 hole winners were Kathy Simpson and Pam Larcombe with 97, three clear of runners-up Sarah Lugsdin and Helen Foster on 94.

Men’s scratch winners were Brian ‘Billy’ Bourke and Duncan McQuie on 74, while the ladies scratch went to Kerran Leetham and Virginia Lange on 57.

The two-day event attracted close to 90 golfers on both Saturday and Sunday.

On the Saturday of the Classic it was Shaun Mills and Craig McDonald that won the day with a score of 48, on countback from George Willis and Mark Thomas.

Felicity McCalman and Annette Danckert paired up to score 45, winning the ladies event in front of Pauleen Davis and Yvonne Holmes on 44.

Sunday saw Cam Pepper and Tom Bult claim the men’s competition with an impressive score of 50, with Ash Hall and Andrew ‘Taffy’ Brunker combining to score 49 to be runners-up.

Ali Ferguson and Sarah Aitken survived a countback to defeat Sharon Harris and Prue Grant, with both ladies teams scoring 43.

Wednesday saw Graeme ‘Wrecker’ Willoughby come out on top in A grade, scoring 41 points to defeat Rob Gray on 38.

But it was B grade winner Ken Wemyss who top scored for the day, with a whopping 48 points to finish six clear of runner-up Tim Nolan on 42.

This Sunday will be the annual Legacy Charity Day and the following Sunday, November 19, is the Channel 4 Change Charity Day, supporting Brenda Norman’s English Channel swim to raise awareness of mental health.

These are two events worthy of your support. Both will be 11.30am gathering for 12 noon shotgun start and you can register in the Pro Shop.

For juniors who want to learn the game, or improve their skills, the Junior Golf Clinics will once again be held from 4pm tonight.

Last week’s results:

Saturday November 4, Spring Classic results:

Men’s - S Mills and C McDonald 48 c/b, r/u G Willis and M Thomas 48; Ladies - F McCalman and A Danckert 45, r/u P Davis and Y Holmes 44.

Ball comp: Men’s - D Ring, G Gardiner, S Mills, C McDonald, G Willis, M Thomas, C Gomez, W Harris, Kev Thompson, Kirk Thompson, B Bourke, D McQuie, G Willoughby, S Willoughby, J Dedman, C Thompson, c/o 45. Ladies - K Simpson, P Larcombe, S Lugsdin, H Foster, F McCalman, A Danckert, P Davis, Y Holmes, S Aitken, A Ferguson, K Leetham, V Lange c/o 42.

NTP: 2nd G Willis; 5th Y Holmes, B Bourke; 9th V Lange, A Wettenhall; 11th L O’Brien, B Bourke; 13th J Radeski.

Sunday November 5, Spring Classic results:

Men’s - C Pepper and T Bult 50, r/u A Hall and A Brunker 49 c/b; Ladies - A Ferguson and S Aitken 43 c/b, r/u S Harris and P Grant 43.

Ball comp: Men’s - C Pepper, T Bult, A Hall, A Brunker, B Irwin, J Tonta, J Penna, K Wemyss, D Ring, G Gardiner, B Barlow, G Bulmer, G Willoughby, S Willoughby, M Thomas, N Boswell. Ladies - S Lugsdin, H Foster, K Simpson, P Larcombe, F McCalman, A Danckert, V Lange, K Leetham, P Davis, Y Holmes, A Ferguson, S Aitken c/o 43.

NTP: 2nd J Lord, D Ring; 5th C Mitsch, C Hardman; 9th P Davis, R Singer; 11th A Gorsuch, J Radeski; 13th P Davis, A Brunker.

Wednesday November 8, single stableford:

A grade G Willoughby 41, r/u R Gray 38; B grade K Wemyss 48, r/u T Nolan 42.

Ball comp: K Wemyss, G Willoughby, R Sobolewski, P McMillan, B Dixon, R Smith, R Gray, N Purtill, J Hunt, J Penna, P Hodgkinson, B Dudley, P Joice, B Barlow, K Maher, R Parks, N Porter, D Irwin, P Gatacre, F Conallin, M Ritchie, L Hughes, T Nolan c/o 35.

NTP: 9th G Willoughby, J Irwin. Golden hole - P Hodgkinson.

Thursday November 2, ladies stroke:

S Simpson 86-23-63; r/u P Davis 83-12-71.

Ball comp: K Druitt, M Rothwell, Y Holmes, S Butcher, L O’Brien, S Aitken c/o 76.

NTP: 9th K Druitt; 11th P Lloyd.

Putting: S Simpson 28 putts.

Tuesday November 7, ladies nine-hole stableford:

S Pisasale 24 c/b, r/u M Smith 24 c/b.

Ball comp: M Sharp, M Farrell, R Lawrence, P Davis.

NTP: D Wharton, T Chandler.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text