North School’s new leaders

December 04, 2017

Jack Gavel and Shae Learmonth are the Deniliquin North Public School captains for 2018.

The duo will lead the school in the new year along with five prefects - Murray Clancy, Kylah Learmonth, Scout McKenzie, Lucy Pitt and Abbey Lawson.

The student leaders were announced last week following a vote from students in Year 2 to Year 6 and school staff.

After the election the seven leaders joined staff for a morning tea and to elect a boys and girls captain.

Deniliquin North principal Megan Hunter said both captains are outstanding role models.

‘‘Both Jack and Shae have always displayed excellent behaviour.

‘‘Shae is an inclusive and empathetic person who will look out for her fellow students.

‘‘Jack is very community minded and he proved this when he participated in the World’s Greatest Shave last year.

‘‘Both are proud North students and I’m delighted to have them represent the school.’’

Jack and Shae are both excited to take on their new roles in 2018.

‘‘I want to try to get students to be nicer to each other and be there for everyone when they need someone to talk to,’’ Shae said.

‘‘It should be a great experience being captain of the North School.’’

Mrs Hunter thanked all the Year 5 students who stood as prefect candidates ‘‘for demonstrating their willingness to help the school and their fellow students’’.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text