Race Club’s new life members

December 22, 2017

Life membership was awarded to Lyn Hutchins and Vicki Barnes at the Deniliquin Race Club annual general meeting on Sunday.

The award recognised a significant contribution to the club and racing in general over many years.

The meeting re-elected Russell Douglas as president with Todd Newman vice president.

The positions of secretary and treasurer are vacant.

New committee members are Leigh Marshall and Leigh Strongman.

Mr Douglas paid tribute to all committee members for their support and tireless work.

‘‘This past year has been a testing time for everyone and for the club with the flooding event in October 2016 affecting our Caulfield Cup day attendance.

‘‘Due to a very wet April 2017 we had to postpone our Anzac Day meeting to June 3 which ran at a loss.’’

The president said two major projects were completed, one being the upgrade of the track.

‘‘This money was well spent and has set our track up for future meetings. It would not have been made possible without the dedication and hard work of our track maintenance crew Dick McCurry, Lindsay Holden, Peter Joss, Wayne Campbell and Todd Newman.

‘‘The other major project has been the completion of the machinery shed and we should be able to consolidate our finances over the next 12 months.’’

Mr Douglas thanked sponsors who made it possible for the club to run its two race meetings each year.

He acknowledged the contribution made by Peter Simpson who had indicated he was stepping down from the treasurer’s role.

‘‘Peter has done a magnificent job and turned this club around with his knowledge and experience in the financial sector.’’

Mr Simpson will remain on the committee.

The club is keen to increase its number of members from the present 125.

One membership costs $40 or two can be purchased for $70.

Members can obtain guest passes at a cost of $30 per person.

Contact Peter Simpson 58814827.


The extreme outside barrier may have cost Deniliquin mare El Rada victory in the Benchmark 64 Handicap (1200m) at Caulfield.

The mare made her run around the field from 10th at the 400m and was edged out of second place in the last stride.

The winner Trogir provided another success for Adelaide horses in Melbourne.


Holiday racing includes the popular Echuca meeting on New Year’s Eve. Other meetings include Kerang and Wodonga on Boxing Day, Corowa December 28 and Albury January 4.


Follow - Above Authority: Four year-old mare with staying potential in restricted grade; gained clear running too late when fourth at Moonee Valley.


Coming winners: Glenall was second at Rosehill after first-up win.

Prevailing Winds won Mornington Three Year-old Benchmark 64 by five lengths.

■ More on Deni Race Club’s newest life members in a coming edition of the Pastoral Times.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text