Purtill returns to key netball role

December 22, 2017

Deni Rovers president Wally Bulmer.

After four years away from the role, Brian Purtill will return as the Deniliquin Rovers Netball Club coordinator for the 2018 Picola League season.

The announcement was made at the club’s annual general meeting held earlier this month.

Purtill will take over the role from Tenille Blake, who he originally handed the job to in 2014.

With his previous experience in the role, Purtill said he felt he was still the right fit for the job.

‘‘I was asked by Tenille to take over again, and after some soul searching I decided I would do it,’’ he said.

‘‘Myself and Grant Matthews (newly appointed A and B grade coach) want to work together to try and better the club’s junior development to help our younger netballers grow.

‘‘We also want to try and attract players with plenty of talent who are good club people as well.

‘‘I felt that as someone who has filled the role before that it would make it easier on the club to have quick results as I know what has to be done as netball coordinator.’’

The club’s AGM also saw Wally Bulmer returned as president for his fourth term in the role.

Helen Braybon will return to the committee as secretary with help from Liam Fleming, while Shane Blake will replace Terry Lumbar as junior development officer.

Bulmer said all appointments were welcome additions to the committee.

‘‘Brian (Purtill) got us to our first club championship, so we’re keen to see what he and Grant (Matthews) can do together,’’ he said.

‘‘I’d like to thank Tenille (Blake) for her tireless work over the last four years.

‘‘I’d also like to thank Terry Lumbar. To have a senior footballer in a junior development role was tremendous for our young blokes.

‘‘For a bloke who doesn’t have kids to show that ability to work with the young footballers to ensure our future shows his love and passion for the club.

‘‘Shane (Blake) will be a fantastic replacement. We’ll look to have Shane lead a junior committee for the club.

‘‘I’m also very excited to have Helen Braybon on board. She’s worth her weight in gold and did a fantastic job when she was secretary previously.’’

Leanne Bode will continue her role as treasurer and building and grounds coordinator will once again be filled by Craig Behsman.

The general committee for 2018 is Craig McCulloch, Michael Fleming, Russel Walker, Craig Bulmer and Rebecca Flisher.

‘‘I felt that 2017 was a solid year for the club,’’ Bulmer said.

‘‘I want to thank all sponsors and supporters for another successful year and I look forward to what 2018 will bring.’’

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text