New panel set to meet

March 11, 2018

Russell Ford at last year's International Temperate Rice Conference.

The new AgriFutures Australia Rice Advisory Panel will meet for the first time in Wagga next Friday to discuss rice research investments, the new Australian Rice Leadership Program and developments of the rice research and development levy.

The new advisory panel will be chaired by rice grower Drew Braithwaite. Other panel members include Dr Laurie Lewin, Michele Groat, Dr Vito Butardo Jr., Garry Knagge, Dr Ben Ovenden, Russell Ford, Barry Kirkup and Brian Dunn.

Outgoing members include long-serving chair Ian Mason, and panel members John Sheppard, Peter Kaylock and Peter Herrmann.

The Rice Advisory Panel plays an important role connecting rice growers and the research sector. It does this by providing advice and recommendations relating to the allocation of grower levies and government contributions for research and development in the industry.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text