Danger Period ends Saturday

March 31, 2018

Jerilderie Deputy Group Officer Ian Sneddon, Booroorban Deputy Captain Damon De Jong, Wanganella Captain Colin McCrabb, Conargo Senior Deputy Captain Jeff Rose and Conargo Captain Michael Bull with four of the zone’s Category 6 tankers.

The Bush Fire Danger Period will end in both the Mid-Murray and Southern Border Rural Fire Service zones this Saturday.

It means permits are no longer required for planned burns from Sunday, but firefighters are urging all landholders to still take extreme caution.

With the end of the Bush Fire Danger period announced, National Parks and Wildlife Service has confirmed it will lift the associated solid fuel fire bans in National Parks early from March 30 — specifically to accommodate Easter camping.

In regional NSW Forestry Corporation state forests, the solid fuel fire bans will continue indefinitely.

NSW Forestry Corporation district manager Andrew McCurdy said the ban would not be lifted until there is significant rainfall to relieve dryness.

Mid-Murray Inspector Doug Adamson said while permits will no longer be necessary there would still be some conditions placed on planned burns.

‘‘Outside of the permit period you can burn whenever is safe to do so, and you can burn timber,’’ he said.

‘‘All other standard conditions apply however, including notifying your neighbours at least 24 hours before a burn and your local fire control centre on the day of the burn.

‘‘The landholder must have adequate fire breaks and firefighting equipment accessible, and a responsible person must be in attendance while the burn is alight.

‘‘Failure to meet any of these condition will result in a fine.

‘‘We also ask that landholders be aware of the weather and other conditions when planning their burns — if it is too windy, the risk is too great.

‘‘If anyone is in doubt about what are considered safe conditions, please contact the fire control centre.’’

The Mid-Murray zone covers the Edward River and Murray River council areas and the southern sector of Murrumbidgee Council. Its fire control centre can be contacted on 58815351.

The Southern Border zone includes the Berrigan Shire area and can be contacted on (02)60334550.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text