Tahlia, Logan best in their fields

By Southern Riverina News

The best of academic, artistic and sporting talents were showcased at the Tocumwal Public School’s presentation evening before the end of the school year.

Tahlia Pate was awarded the 2018 Pupil of the Year after an excellent year in her studies.

In the sporting arena, Logan White capped off a stellar year as the recipient of two major sporting awards.

It included a new award created by the Finley Zone PSSA to highlight two outstanding athletes from within the zone.

Tocumwal Public School sporting coordinator Beth Hatty said she was thrilled to announce that Logan, a Year 4 student, was an award recipient.

‘‘This was a fantastic recognition of Logan’s achievements in 2018,’’ she said.

‘‘He was Zone Age Champion in all three disciplines — swimming, cross country and athletics — as well as reaching the New South Wales State carnival in swimming and athletics in both individual and team events.

‘‘In addition, Logan was awarded the Tocumwal Optimists Prize for Junior Sportsperson of the Year.’’

In his annual address, principal Darren White said Tocumwal Public School was committed to the pursuit of excellence in education and all that it endeavours.

‘‘We constantly strive to combine academic excellence with a broad range of opportunities both in and beyond the classroom.

‘‘We are extremely proud of the students’ successes and I would like to thank the staff at TPS for the vast sweep of work that they do that is often untold.”

Mr White also paid tribute to departing teacher Laura Keech for her tireless efforts over the past five years and to outgoing P&C president Mrs Vanessa Bury for her valuable contributions to the school community.

Presentation night results are as follows.

Special School Awards:

Rotary Prize for Citizenship – Alana Sutton.

Lions Club Prize for Improvement – Keeley Peters.

De Eddy You Can Do It Award – Tully Jones (primary), Claudia Almond (infants).

Joan Ball Creative and Practical Arts Award – Kane Wardlaw (primary), Lily Thorburn (infants).

TPS Resilience Award – Lilly Clarke (primary), Milly Beatt (infants).

Vanderhoek Family Award for Science – Jett Parker (primary), Sasha Jones (infants).

Joan Taylor Creativity Award – Remmi Wardlaw (primary), Bridie Dawes (infants).

Special Awards for Year 6:

Tocumwal Pharmacy for Pupil of the Year – Tahlia Pate.

J&B Hatty Award for Proficiency in Oracy and Literacy – Hallie Burke.

Batescrew Award for Proficiency in Mathematics – Lachlan Shepherd.

P&C Association for Proficiency in Bookwork – Emily Thompson.

Berrigan Shire Award for Outstanding Leadership – Jessica Bennett.

Tocumwal Public School Encouragement Award – Brock Bear.

Sports awards:

Soroptimist International Tocumwal Sportspeople of the Year – Jessica Bennett and Joe Barker (senior); Logan White (junior).

NSW Premier’s Sporting Challenge Medal – Emily Thompson.

Mathletics – Abigayle Owen and Mia Owen, 34 certificates (infants), Monet Vinecombe, Hunter Groutsch, Logan White and Samantha Anderson-Catchpool, 39 certificates (senior). Highest accumulated total – Sasha Jones, 102,858 (infants), Ryan Huang, 117,561 (senior).

Class Awards

Kindergarten: Consistent Classroom Endeavour – Archie Matters, Ayden Richmann and Sam White; Consistent Classroom Achievement – Lauren Jarrett; Consistent Application and Enthusiasm in Numeracy – Arlo Haley; Consistent Application in all areas – Lola O’Connell; Creative Arts Award – Ava Almond; Kindness and Compassion to others – Kimberley Schindler.

Year 1: Consistent Classroom Endeavour – Daisy Flanagan and Miley Palmer; Citizenship – Max Haynes; Improvement in all areas – Luca Dei-Rossi; Positive Attitude and Consistent Application – Harrison Wilson; Compassion and Resilience – Layla Harrison.

Year 2: Consistent Classroom Endeavour – James White and Adelaide Haley; Citizenship – Riley Thompson; Improvement in all Areas – Chase Dickins; Enthusiastic Approach to Learning – Bella Wisz; Resilience in Learning – Heidi Walsh; Positive Attitude and Consistent Application – Ava East.

Year 3: Academic Excellence – Harrison Tainton; Consistent Classroom Endeavour – Monet Vinecombe; Citizenship – Chace Brunskill; Excellence in Numeracy – Alex Booth; Improvement in all Areas – Lucy Watmore; Positive Attitude and Consistent Effort – Adrienne Jones .

Year 4: Academic Excellence – Tom White; Consistent Classroom Endeavour – Tarryn Wright; Citizenship – Olivia Thompson; Excellence in Numeracy – Hunter Groutsch; Improvement in all Areas – Lora Owen; Encouragement – Jemma Reid; Consistent Effort in all Areas – Logan White and Willa Campbell.

Year 5: Academic Excellence – Alice Bourchier; Consistent Classroom Endeavour – Charlie Locke; Citizenship – Rory Shepherd; Excellence in Numeracy – Will O’Connell; Resilience in Learning – Sienna Keith; Quiet Achiever – Chase McNair.

Year 6: Positive Attitude and Consistent Application – Hunter Hardwidge; Academic Improvement in all Areas – Breah Gill; Consistent Endeavour – Abby Jeffress; Creative and Performing Arts – Dylan Schwan.