“Border bubble” bursts as NSW Government announces strict new border zone

By Cobram Courier

UPDATE, 5.30 PM:  While Strathmerton and Koonoomoo appear on the border zone map, when the Courier used the Service NSW Border zone address check, addresses in those towns came back as ineligible.

EARLIER: The NSW Government has established a strict new border zone which comes into force at 12.01 am on Wednesday, July 22.

Residents of Cobram, Cobram East, Barooga, Tocumwal, Yarrawonga and Mulwala can cross the closed Victoria-NSW border by applying for exemption as cross-border residents.

This permit may be used only for the purposes of entering NSW for work or education and does not require people to self-isolate on arrival in NSW.

Cross-border residents who travel outside of the established border community will be required to self-isolate upon re-entering NSW and wait 14 days before re-applying for a new permit.

People living in Yarroweyah, Strathmerton, Katamatite, Muckatah, Koonoomoo, Finley and Berrigan are among those ineligible to apply for a cross-border resident permit.

All currently-issued permits and any issued between now and the start of the border zone will expire at 12.01 am on Wednesday, July 22.

For more information, to check if your address is included in the border zone and to apply for a new border crossing permit visit the Service NSW website.

This is a developing story and is subject to change. The Courier will provide updates as more information becomes available.

More border closure news

Restrictions tightened for entry to NSW from Victoria

Border closure ushered in quietly at Cobram-Barooga

Acts of kindness brighten border patrol at Cobram-Barooga