Golf Report | December 20

By Riverine Herald

Rich River

Tuesday December 10

William Bayles holed out on the revamped 8th, David Cockroft had his second super pin in as many weeks and John Bedford and John Gaspar claimed A and C grade respectively with fine scores of 44.

At the end of the competition though, the day belonged to Ted Fordham with his score of 44 points in B grade amounting to the splendid feat of breaking his age in stroke play.

A total of 179 golfers played the east course with 38 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: John Bedford (44), 2nd: Stephen Edwards (42 c/b), 3rd: Joe Shiels (42).

B grade: 1st: Ted Fordham (44), 2nd: Barry Kelly (43 c/b), 3rd: Laurie Scott (43).

C grade: 1st: John Gasper (44), 2nd: KD Martin (41), 3rd: Brian Harland (40 c/b).

NTPs: 3rd — Johnny Ray, Bruce Pollock and Evan Lloyd; 8th — William Bayles, Keith McCormack and Garry Jefferey. 13th — John Bedford, Michael Clemmens and David Collins.

Super-pin: 16th — David Cockroft $142.

Hole-in-one: 8th — William Bayles.

Thursday December 12

Jock and Neville were pipped by the magnificent Lindsay Mudge whose round included a hole in one on the temporary 20th.

Ken beat Len and Ken in B grade and John Veitch was far too good for the rest of the C grade field.

A total of 183 golfers played the east course with 36 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Lindsay Mudge (41 c/b), 2nd: Jock Watson (41 c/b), 3rd: Neville Speight (41).

B grade: 1st: Ken Giovanetti (42), 2nd: Ken Ashworth (41 c/b), 3rd: Len Adams (41).

C grade: 1st: John Veitch (42), 2nd: Clarke Taylor (39 c/b), 3rd: Gavon Armstrong (39 c/b).

NTPs: 3rd — Paul Allan, Brian Sharp and Alex McCrae. 8th — Stan Davis, Keith Jenkinson and John Moore. 13th — Neville Speight, John Beattie and Ian Maddison.

Hole-in-one: 20th — Lindsay Mudge.

Super-pin: 16th — Michael Tyndall $157.

Saturday December 14

Saturday and the Privilege Cup rightfully belonged to Kirk Ardley who registered 43 points.

Kirk had 6 under off the stick which included an unbelievable eight birdies in a row.

Ron Branch brushed aside B grade and Craig Peterson held off the in-form Nev Toohey in C grade.

A total of 184 played the east course with a team score of 35 points on a countback winning a voucher.

A grade: 1st: Kirk Ardley (43), 2nd: Graham Mose (40), 3rd: Peter Sargentson (39).

B grade: 1st: Ron Branch (39), 2nd: Dean Noelker (38 c/b), 3rd: Ken Ashworth (38).

C grade: 1st: Craig Peterson (40), 2nd: Nev Toohey (39 c/b), 3rd: Liam Fleming (39).

NTPs: 3rd — Craig Grame, Gregory Taylor and Phill Smith. 8th — Peter Hilet, Brendon Robinson and Mark Roberts. 13th — Brendan Kelly, Kade Merlo and Neil Moresco.

Super-pin: Graham Mose $171.

Eagle: 11th — Stephen Morgan.


Wednesday, December 18

A reduced field due to hot conditions saw 38 brave ladies take to the west course for a stroke competition.

The rundown went to 74.

Deborah Quittner smashed the field with an impressive 65 points to take first.

Second on 70 points was Marion Whatley with Susan Hull on 71 taking third on a countback.

Super-pin was won by Marilyn Robins on the 16th.

NTP on the 4th: A grade — Diane Johnson; B grade: Lorraine Bowman.

Saturday, Decemeber 14

Maxine Aitken scored 37 points to win from Denise Ferrier on 35 and Doss Dinsdale on 33 in a stableford competition on Saturday with 35 entrants.

Heather Gunstone won the Super-pin.

NTPs: Division 1 — Glenys Smith; Division 2 — Lorraine Bowman.

Monday, December 9

The nine-hole ladies competed in a stroke maximum match with 47 entrants.

The ball rundown went to 39.

A grade: 1st: Kris Briggs (32), 2nd: Chris Ross (33), 3rd: Chris Kelly (35 c/b).

B grade: 1st: Kathryn Sinnett (33 c/b), 2nd: Cheryl Watson (33), 3rd: Ann Young (34).

Second shot was won by Kathryn Sinnett on the 4th.

Division 1 with one shot was won by Kris Briggs.

Back Nine

The social club has gone into recess until mid-February.

A wind up dinner was held at the Echuca Workers Club and annual awards were presented.

Percy Jacobs Trophy (best scratch round over four games): Men — Bob Scott; Ladies — Josie Kirkman.

Geoff Shilton Trophy (handicap nett): Men — Bob Scott; Ladies — Josie Kirkman.

Ken Brown Trophy (best stableford score over five rounds): Eric Qualman.

Eclectic Trophy: Men — Jim Miller; Ladies — Josie Kirkman.