Strong local contingent in Pioneers squads

By Brayden May

THE Bendigo Pioneers have announced their final under 18 team lists for season 2020 and there is a strong representation from Echuca-Moama.

Four players from the Murray Bombers have been selected in the boys side including Jack Evans, Joey Guiney and Riley Smith, as well as Echuca United's Billy Barnes.

Cohuna will have two representatives in the boys squad after Josh Treacy - who is considered a top draft prospect - was named alongside Xavier Mitchell.

Nathan Kay and Adam McPhee from Rochester will do the honour of representing their club.

Leitchville-Gunbower's Jed Brereton has also been named alongside Aiden Robinson who is Kyabram's only selected player.

Meanwhile in the girls side, Delilah Crighton will be the Murray Bomber's sole representative.

Madison Elliot from Moama will be joined by her former teammate Jayda Richardson, who has now joined Tatura.

The boys first game will be played against Geelong Falcons at GMHBA Stadium on Saturday, March 21.

While the girls will start their season on Saturday, February 29, against the Western Jets at Queen Elizabeth Oval, a curtain raiser to the AFLW game between Richmond and Geelong.