Bowls battle for champion titles

Fay Munnerly (left) and Linda Harris did battle in the singles championships.

Perfect weather was the order of the day when the Deniliquin Bowling Club crowned both their ladies and men’s Club Singles champions on Sunday.

Fay Munnerley and Linda Harris battled it out over just on three hours in their quest to be the first to claim 25 shots.

After an even early part of the contest, it was Harris eventually gaining the ascendancy to skip out to a six shot advantage, and seemed to be doing enough to win comfortably.

But the evergreen Munnerley was not to be denied, and fought back bravely to level the scores at 23 shots apiece.

Harris held her nerve however, to claim a two and secure the title in a quality match befitting of a club championship final.

It was a fairly different story in the men’s final when Jamie Shields found himself up 12 shots to one after only six ends against Simon Chisholm.

The latter fought his way back into the contest from there, but the gap was too great, with Shields running out a comfortable winner, 25 shots to 15.

The healthy crowd thoroughly appreciated a day of top class bowls in both matches.

Both midweek pennant sides claimed victory on Friday, with Division 1 taking the spoils against Rich River, 67 shots to 50, while Division 3 secured a 49-30 win over Mathoura.

In Division 1 Jill Grimshaw’s rink won 23 shots to 15, while Jo Bovell’s side succumbed in a similar scoreline, going down 22-15.

The combination of Ian McKenzie, Jenny Tonta, Tony Danckert and Linda Harris (s) held sway from the outset, and scored a six on the final end to claim a comprehensive 29-13 victory, ensuring an overall team win by 17 shots.

Helen Anderson’s Division 3 rink won 25-15, and with an almost identical scoreline, Joy McArthur (s), Winnie Pattinson, Peter Harris and Caryn Hillier controlled their rink to win 24 shots to 15, thus maintaining the 19 shot buffer at the match’s end.

Midweek teams for this Friday, both playing at home, are as follows:

Division 1 v Rochester: I McKenzie, J Tonta, T Danckert, L Harris (s); G Nisbet, R Little, S Laing, J Grimshaw (s); T Brooksby, M Norton, L Franklin, J Bovell (s).

Division 3 v Echuca: W Pattinson, P Harris, C Hillier, J McArthur (s); B Leetham, M Law, C Bradley, H Anderson (s).

All weekend pennant sides are away on Saturday, with leads on car duty.

Division 1 v Echuca: M Tasker, D Hessel, B Kemnitz, S Chisholm (s); G Nisbet, L Franklin, S O'Brien, J Shields (s); R Morris, J Flisher, P Chadderton, S Laing (s).

Division 2 v Moama: M Norton, K Plattfuss, S Treble, L Ritchie (s); R Brown, J Bovell, T Danckert, L Harris (s); T Brooksby, D Kitchin, S King, G Thomson (s).

Division 3 v Echuca: J Croker, W Pattinson, A Hardcastle, L Hillier (s); J Murray, T King, J Grimshaw, M Law (s); K Salter, K Keane, M Donohue, L Pattinson (s).

Division 4B v Mathoura: M Atley, L Villella, R Douglas, T Todd (s); D Stanmore, I Chessells, C Knuckey, R Anderson (s).