The year that was in sport: May 2021

PICTURE OF THE MONTH: Abbie Fraser is back behind the wheel again on one of the rare occassions the Deniliquin Sporting Car Club could operate in 2021. Photo by Zoe McMaugh

Here is what made sporting headlines in May 2021.

■ ‘Winter action returns’ – After a hiatus in 2020 because of Coronavirus, action returned to Deniliquin Rotary Park with the resumption of the Deniliquin Soccer Association’s junior competition.

■ ‘Three in a row for Globe’ – Globe Hotel made it a threepeat in the Deniliquin Sports & Entertainment Stadium’s men’s basketball competition, defeating Tune Squad 60-17. Team members were Jack Tyndall, Brett MacDonald, Judd Barnes, Ryan MacDonald, Brayden Hall and Dane Maxwell.

■ ‘Deni keeps cup’ – The Deniliquin Rovers senior footballers retained the Warner Tasker Cup for the third consecutive time, with the return of the cup clash in 2021. The traditional rivalry match between the Rovers and Blighty Redeyes was hosted at Memorial Park after a COVID-19 enforced recess in 2020.

■ ‘Bonnie shines after last minute call up’ – Deniliquin basketballer Bonnie Everett featured heavily for Riverina in the Open Girls Basketball State Titles in Maitland after being called on at the last minute to fill a team vacancy. Bonnie had just missed out on team selection, but was elevated after another team member was injured.

■ ‘Deni High knocked out’ – A round three match-up with Penrith Selective School, in Penrith, saw the Deni High School team bow out of the Open Boys Basketball State Knockout Competition.

■ ‘Mathoura’s district runners selected’ – Twenty-two Mathoura Public School students qualified for the Deniliquin District Cross Country Trials for their efforts in the school’s own cross country event. The fastest times in the school’s 3km event were achieved by CJ Wilson (14:38), Luke Moorse (14:42) and Sienna Toomey (14:58).

■ ‘Rams juniors star in school state carnival’ – Six Deniliquin junior footballers represented their schools, and unofficially the Deni Rams, when they competed in the NSW PSSA state football championships in Byron Bay. Henry Robinson, Oscar Wren, Harry Raper and Ted Wren all pulled on the boots for the Polding team, while Charlie McCallum and Jai Park played in the Riverina team.

■ ‘Hosts claim shield’ – The Deniliquin RSL Bowling Club claimed the Edinburgh Shield after hosting the tournament which attracted players from Warrnambool, Bendigo, Mulwala RSL, Colac and Morwell.