Seven nominate for seat on board

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Seven candidates have nominated to fill four grower director positions on the SunRice board, effective after this year’s annual general meeting.

The candidates were confirmed on Friday, with growers given until August 19 to cast their votes.

The field of candidates includes two directors seeking re-election after their terms come to an end — existing chairman Laurie Arthur and Leigh Vial.

Choosing not to renominate at this election are Mark Robertson and Glen Andreazza.

Other candidates are:

●Warren Lang – A ricegrower in the Berriquin district for the last 30 years, and involved with the Ricegrowers Association of Australia since the early 1990s. .

●Rob Massina – A previous agribusiness senior executive who now jointly operates numerous irrigation properties between Finley and Jerilderie with a focus on rice, lamb, wool and grain production.

●Jeremy Morton – current president of the Ricegrowers Association of Australia who has grown rice since 1987. He currently owns and manages properties at Moulamein.

●Angela Urquhart – A mixed cropping farmer south east of Finley growing rice, winter cereals, oilseeds, maize and sheep.

●Julian Zanatta – A ricegrower from Benerembah, in the northern part of the Murrumbidgee valley, whose family started growing in the Deniliquin region in the early 1960s.

Mr Arthur joined the board of SunRice in 2007 and has served as chairman for the last 4 years. He started growing rice in the Moulamein district in 1980, and says ‘‘enduring control of the rice industry by growers is something I deeply believe in’’.

Mr Vial is also based in Moulamein, and has been growing rice since 1993. In addition to joining the SunRice board in 2015, Mr Vial served 12 years on the Rice Research Committee and as chairman of RGA’s Environment Working Group.

He was also founding director of Moulamein Grain Co-operative, and currently a director of Agripak Pty Ltd.