RSL score second win of the season

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Deniliquin RSL Bowling Club’s Division One side scored their second win for the year in the Campaspe Valley Bowls Division, defeating Mathoura in a tight tussle, 68 to 65.

Playing at home, Deni managed two rink wins and despite a heavy loss on the final rink, held on for a three shot victory.

Mick Howe, Jenny Tonta, Larry Seely and skip Daryl Weymouth scored an emphatic victory on their rink.

They raced out to lead 10-nil after five ends, and although Mathoura closed the gap after 10 ends the RSL combination added 22 shots in a dominant period between ends 10 and 22.

They restricted the opposition to six shots, and bowled very consistently to record a 16 shot win.

Final score, RSL 32 to Mathoura 16.

Peter Liefting, John Wilson, Conway Bovell and skip Terry Taylor also recorded an excellent win on their rink.

The game was evenly balanced after 17 ends with RSL leading by two shots, 15 to 13.

But a ‘five’ on the next end gave them a decisive break, which they maintained until the end.

Final score, RSL 23 to Mathoura 18.

David Hart, Chris Taylor, Tony Tonta and Ken Wellard (s) were the only casualties overall for the day, beaten comprehensively by their Mathoura opponents.

Nothing separated the teams at 13-all on the 13th end, but after the break Mathoura were far more consistent.

They took nine of the last 12 ends, running away with the match.

Final score, Mathoura 32 to RSL 17.

Division Three also claimed an upset victory at home, knocking off Moama 73 to 58.

Miro Peterman, Brian Clancy, Rod Reid and skip Ron Marchetti were the sole winners for RSL on the day, with a comfortable victory.

Leading from the outset, the RSL combination played consistent bowls.

The home side were up 13 to 11 on the 11th end, and then produced a nine-end ‘purple patch’, victorious on all ends and scoring 18 shots.

They comfortably maintain this buffer for a great win.

Final score, RSL 33 to Moama 15.

Glenn Thomson (s), Frank Daniels, Cheryl Bradley and Lyn Hardcastle were shot for shot in their encounter.

In a great game of bowls, neither side could create a sizable leading margin at any stage.

At the end of the game scores were level.

Final score, RSL 20 to Moama 20.

Don McCalman, Tim Dover, Craig Taylor and skip Jim Jennings also featured in a close game.

RSL scored a single on the 23rd end to trail by just one shot, 21 to 20, but Moama managed singles on the last two ends to finish victorious by three shots.

Final score, Moama 23 to RSL 20.

Division Five continued their dominance to make it a clean sweep for RSL at home, downing Rich River 47 to 32.

Ernie Smith, Jim Rhook, Neville Austin and skip Bruce Clancy were victorious in their match.

They won an eight end stretch mid-game, where they claimed 12 shots to nil.

Final score, RSL 23 to Rich River 15.

Sandra Hill, Allan Hodges, Graham Gordon and skip Max Connor always had the better of their opposition in their game and finished strongly for a comfortable victory.

Final score, RSL 24 to Rich River 17.

The win saw Division Five move their record to an impressive 13 wins and one loss for the year.