Div. Five secure finals spot

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Deniliquin RSL Bowling Club’s Division Five are into the Campaspe Valley Bowls Division finals following a 16 shot win against fifth placed Rich River on Saturday.

The two teams shared rink wins for a final margin of 59 to 43.

John Wilson’s side of Frank Daniels, Paul Connor and Ian McKenzie got off to a flying  start to be 21 shots up at the break and kept the lead to win 38 to 17.

Tony King, Mark Law, James Rhook and Tim Freeman were 14 shots down after 21 ends but managed 10 shots in the last four ends, going down by just five shots, 26 to 21.

Division Three lost to Rich River by just three shots overall, 70 to 67.

Rod Reid’s side of Jim Jennings, Cheryl Bradley and Kaigh Reid had a 12 shot win, 24 to 12.

Bruce Clancy’s side of Graham Gordon, Archie Webster and Sandra Hill had a tight battle, getting up by four shots, 26 to 22.

Ron Marchetti’s side of Brian Clancy, Chris Frampton and Lyn Hardcastle went down by 19 shots, 36 to 17 handing their opponents the overall win.

Division One finished their season without a win, going down to Rich River by 13 shots.

Daryl Weymouth’s side of Tony Tonta and Jenny Tonta and Division One debutante Ken Bowden won 25 to 16.

Conway Bovell’s side of Joanne Bovell, Craig Taylor and Neville Austin had a close game all day, going down by just three shots, 20 to 17.

Ken Wellard’s side of Chris Taylor, Tim Dover and Don Pearson had a horror day on the greens, defeated by 19 shots, 31 to 12.