Tonta storms to seven shot win

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Jack Tonta continued his good form to win Saturday’s A grade stableford event with an impressive 45 points.

He had a huge seven shot margin to runner-up Terry Howe, and was also seven shots ahead of the second best score of the day.

B grade winner with 37 points was Greg Collins, on countback from Ken Maher, and in C grade Ray Phillips had 38, from runner-up Wayne Jamieson on 36.

On Wednesday Brian Bourke had 37 points to win A grade on countback from David Ring, and in B grade David Wells had 42 points to win by four from runner-up Paul McMillan.

Last Thursday the ladies played versus par, won by Dot Wharton with +3, from Lyn O’Brien on -1.

The ladies also played pennant at Berrigan on Monday. Deniliquin (2) defeated Finley (1) 3/2 and Deniliquin (1) lost to Finley (2) 3/2. The final round of ladies pennant will be played next Monday at Jerilderie.

Tomorrow we have a fourball best ball stableford which is qualifying round for the Eastman Knockout (top 16 to qualify) and the Golf NSW qualifying round.

On Sunday is the Deniliquin South School charity day - A Day On The Greens - with a four person ambrose format. The timesheet is in the pro shop. It is $25 per player with 11.30 assembly for 12 noon shotgun start.

Also coming up is the Winter Classic on the June long weekend, so get your partner organised for this popular annual event.

Last week’s results:

Thursday May 16, ladies versus par:

D Wharton +3, r/u L O’Brien -1.

Ball comp: K Cathcart, K Campbell, E Bolton, J Armytage, D Hunter, S Cohen.

Saturday May 18, single stableford:

A grade J Tonta 45, r/u T Howe 38; B grade G Collins 37, c/b K Maher; C grade R Phillips 38, r/u W Jamieson 36.

Ball comp: J Tonta, T Howe, G Collins, S Tilders, K Maher, V Hutton, N Purtill, W Jamieson, W Pitts, S McCambridge, L O’Brien, W Pekin, A Patterson, G Rothwell, R Begg, P O’Brien, K Pearce, P Webb, C Thomson, K Leetham, R Phillips, c/o 34.

NTP: 2nd T Wettenhall; 5th P Joice, K Pearce; 9th M Aitken, M Thomas; 11th G Willoughby, R Phillips; 13th R Wettenhall, M Thomas. Golden hole P Joice.

Tuesday, May 21, ladies 9 holes stroke:

Winner F Munnerley 28.5, r/u T Chandler 29.5.

Ball comp: B Purtill, F Harrington, Y Holmes, M Farrell, J Choice c/o 36. Putting F Munnerley 14; NTP: C Newman.

Wednesday May 22, single stableford:

A grade B Bourke 37, c/b D Ring; B grade D Wells 42, r/u P McMillan 38.

Ball comp: D Wells, B Scott, B Bourke, D Ring, N Purtill, J Jenkins, F Conallin, J Poka jnr, B Barlow, P Robinson, R Turner, G Huntington, R Bolton, G Rothwell, J Irwin, R Sobolewski, P Joice, K Pearce, M Lyne, S McCambridge, c/o 34.

NTP: P Beckton, N Porter.