RSL ladies’ historic win

By Jamie Lowe

Two Deniliquin RSL Bowling Club players have written themselves into the club’s record books by being part of the Women’s CVBD State Fours winning team recently.

It was back in 1985 when Deni RSL ladies last had winners of the CVBD State Fours. 

Even though Mathoura claimed the team, it comprised of Ros Neil (City of Echuca), Jenny Tonta (Deni RSL), Chris Taylor (Deni RSL) and skipper Joan Moss (Mathoura). 

The ladies were invited to put together a team to make up an even draw and were not expected to feature too strongly. 

They played three matches in the qualifying rounds, coming through as the only undefeated section winners out of the four sections. 

On January 19, they played the semi final winning 21 to 11 to go on to the final later that afternoon.

The quartet managed to defeat a star studded team of Linda Harris, Merilyn Rehe, Marilyn Stephenson and Melissa Roberts (CVBD Champion of Champions) in the final.

In a tight, high quality game, the final score line after 18 ends was 13 to 12.  

Deni RSL has not had a midweek team in the CVBD for many years due to a shortage of ladies at the club.

As a result, Tonta plays at Deniliquin Bowling Club while Taylor plays at Mathoura in the midweek competition. They are both registered Deni RSL players for Saturday pennant.