Bourke claims IGA Open

By Deniliquin Pastoral Times

Brian ‘Billy’ Bourke won the IGA Deniliquin Open at the Deniliquin Golf Club on Sunday.

Bourke hit 78 off the stick to claim the win ahead of Graeme ‘Wrecker’ Willoughby, who hit a round of 79.

David Ring was the net winner in A grade with John Radeski runner-up on 76.

Graeme Rothwell won B grade with 71 net, Magnus Aitken’s 75 saw him finish as runner-up. C grade winner Carl Pound was 69 net, defeating David Sandquest.

Noel Swainger stood tall in the par event on Saturday, finishing 5-up to claim A grade, ahead of Neville Werner on 3-up.

Jamie Begg survived a countback from Wendy Pearce to win B grade, with both scorers finishing 2-up.

In Wednesday’s stableford competition the winner for A grade was Peter Joice with 38 points after a countback from David Connolly. David Wells won B grade with 41 points, with runner-up Dicky Bolton finishing on 38.

Round three of the Riverina Ladies Golf Association pennant was held in Finley on Monday. Deniliquin (1) def. Berrigan 3-2; Finley (1) def. Jerilderie 3-2; Finley (2) def. Deniliquin (2) 3-2.

In the clubhouse the regular Friday activities return tonight, with raffle tickets on sale from 6pm and draws at 7.30pm. Meals will be available, but please book by phoning the clubhouse on 58811325.

Last week’s results:

Thursday, May 9, ladies single stableford:

A grade K Leetham 36, r/u J Choice 32; B grade B Purtill 34, r/u P Taylor 33.

Ball comp: D Hunter, C Maher, S Butcher, L O’Brien, C Hardman, D Wharton, K Rourke, M Marshall, E Bolton, B Daniels.

NTP 5th B Daniels; 9th K Druitt; 11th L O’Brien.

Saturday, May 11, vs par:

A grade N Swainger +5, r/u N Werner +3; B grade J Begg +2 c/b, r/u W Pearce +2.

Ball comp: N Swainger, N Werner, R Begg, J Begg, W Pearce, S Butcher, B Dixon, J Hetherington, G Maddison, C Hardman.

NTP: 2nd N Swainger, Col Thomson; 5th G Maddison; 9th G Rothwell, K Rourkel 11th L O’Brien, J Poka Snr; 13th J Radeski, P O’Brien. Golden hole G Maddison.

Sunday, May 12, Deniliquin Open:

Scratch winner B Bourke 78, r/u G Willoughby 79. Net winners A grade D Ring 72, r/u J Radeski 76; B grade G Rothwell 71, r/u M Aitken 74; C grade C Pound 69, r/u D Sandquest (no score supplied).

Ball comp: C Pound, G Rothewell, D Ring, M Aitken, G Willoughby, J Tonta, B Bourke, J Radeski, D Sandquest, A Evans, c/o 77.

NTP: 5th G Stein, 9th P Bisset; 11th B Shaw.

Tuesday, May 14 ladies three-person ambrose:

P Davis, J Choice, D Randell 34.

Ball Comp: B Leetham, P Aitken, C Hardman; J Hussey, K Rourke, V Barnes; K Cathcart, C Maw, A Gorsuch; D Wharton, K Bull, Y Holmes.

Longest Drives: Tuesday - M Farrell, Thursday - P Davis.

Wednesday, May 15, men’s single stableford:

A grade P Joice 38 c/b, r/u D Connolly 38; B grade D Wells 41, r/u D Bolton 38.

Ball comp: D Wells, P Joice, D Bolton, R Landy, D Connolly, J Begg, R Turner, D Ring, T Maw, G Willoughby, G Collins, P Robinson, P Hodgkinson, R Sobolewski, A Lord, K Maher, G Rothwell, c/o 34.

NTP: 9th R Friend, A Lord. Golden hole D Ring.