Deni denies RSL first victory

By Zoe McMaugh

It was a Deni derby in the Campaspe Valley Bowls Division when Deniliquin RSL faced off against Deniliquin Bowling Club on Saturday.

The round 12 fixture saw RSL hosting their local rivals in Division One, Three and Five on the weekend.

Division One saw RSL fall just short of their first win of the season, with Deniliquin BC handing them a seven shot loss.

RSL managed two rink wins on the day but a massive loss on the third rink was enough to hand their rivals the overall victory 75 to 68.

Daryl Weymouth’s RSL team of Tony Tonta, Jenny Tonta and Wayne Bradley defeated Simon Chisholm (s), John Flisher, Kevin Keane and Tony Scoullar by 12 shots.

Final score, RSL 28 to Deni BC 16.

RSL quartet Conway Bovell (s), Joanne Bovell, Craig Taylor and Neville Austin edged their way to a four shot win against Jamie Shields (s), David Hessell, Russell Douglas and Lindsay Franklin.

Final score, RSL 25 to Deni BC 21.

Deni BC’s Stefan Truelsen (s) Peter Chadderton, Shane Laing and Rob Morris saved the day for their club, handing Ken Wellard (s), Chris Taylor, Tim Dover and Allan Hodges a 23 shot loss.

Final score, Deni BC 38 to RSL 15.

Division Three’s clash saw a 63-all draw between RSL and Deni BC, with the latter just getting the edge with two rink wins to one.

It was a tight contest all day, with Bruce Clancy (s), Graham Gordon, Archie Webster and Ian McKenzie the victors for RSL.

They defeated Tom Todd (s), John Croker, Graeme Dedman and Noel Murray by six shots.

Final score, RSL 19 to Deni BC 13.

Deni BC’s Glenn Thomson (s), John Neander, Col Knuckey and Raymond Hay had a close game against Ron Marchetti (s), Brian Clancy, Peter Liefting and Miro Peterman, with only two shots separating the two teams.

Final score, Deni BC 24 to RSL 22.

Tony Danckert (s), Lee Pattinson, Tony King and Maxine Norton provided another rink win for Deni BC, defeating Rod Reid (s), Jim Jennings, Cheryl Bradley and Ken Bowden by four shots.

Final score, Deni BC 26 to RSL 22.

Nothing could split the two sides in Division Five, with the game finishing as a 44-all draw.

RSL’s Tony King (s), Mark Law, James Rhook and Tim Freeman scored a five-shot win against Alan Hardcastle, Jeff Rose, Ian Chessels and Andrew Knuckey.

Final score, RSL 24 to Deni BC 19.

Deni BC quartet Mike Donohue (s), Tony Smith, William Young and Louis Vilella levelled the scores however, defeating John Wilson (s), Frank Daniels, Paul Connor and Sandra Hill  by five shots.

Final score, Deni BC 25 to RSL 20.

In other action across the road, Deniliquin BC’s Division Two side scored a tight two-shot overall win on their home green against Lockington, 66 to 64.

Steve O’Brien (s), Lee Hillier, Keith Plattfus and Mark Tasker had a six shot win against their opponents.

Final score, Deni BC 22 to Lockington 16.

It was an absolute thriller for Lloyd Richie (s), Paul Snare, Graeme Nisbet and Toni Brooksby scraping home to a one shot win.

Final score, Deni BC 22 to Lockington 21.

Linda Harris (s), Larry Seely, Steve King and Winnie Pattinson just did enough to ensure the overall victory, despite suffering a five shot loss.

Final score, Lockington 27 to Deni BC 22